The Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence, in collaboration with the Jean Monnet Chair of the Democritus University of Thrace organize a summer school entitled “The EU area of freedom, security and justice”, that will take place in July 1-3, at the Conference Room of the University of Macedonia in Thessaloniki, Greece. For all information check here

Curriculum – Course structure:

  • Structure and Evolution of the AFSJ
  • European Citizenship Rights in the AFSJ
  • Schengen, Migration and Asylum Policy
  • EU Security and Police Cooperation
  • Civil and Criminal Justice in the EU


The Summer Academy is organized by the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence of the University of Macedonia, Greece. This year’s co-organizer is the Jean Monnet Chair, awarded by the European Commission to  Michail Chrysomallis, Associate Professor of the Law School of Democritus University of Thrace.

Course leader:

Dr. Despina Anagnostopoulou, Associate Professor, Department of International and European Studies, University of Macedonia

Venue: University of Macedonia Conference Room (1st floor)


For University Students: EUR  190

For all other participants:EUR 240


Certificates of Αttendance will be issued for all participants. A Graduation Certificate will be awarded to those passing a multiple choice examination.

Credits info:

2 Extra-curricular ECTS will be granted to those passing a multiple choice exam by the University of Macedonia.

Who can join?

  • University Students of graduate and undergraduate level.
  • Public officials working primarily in the field of EU integration.
  • Lawyers, judges, social and political scientists, journalists, police officers and other professionals from non-governmental organizations and think-tanks who wish to enhance their skills and knowledge on the AFSJ.


Courses of the seminar will be taught by a highly distinguished international faculty.

This year our lecturers are:

  • Miguel Gardenes-Santiago, Professor Titular, Law School, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
  • Vasilis Hatzopoulos, Professor, Department of Social Administration and Political Science, Democritus University of Thrace, College of Europe (Brugges), Greece/Belgium
  • Michail Chrysomallis, Associate Professor, Jean Monnet Chair, Law School, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
  • Dimitrios Skiadas, Associate Professor, University of Macedonia
  • Ioannis Papageorgiou, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Sciences, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Despina Anagnostopoulou, Associate Professor, Department of International and European Studies, University of Macedonia, Greece
  • Dr. Nikos Gaitenidis, University of Macedonia
  • Dr. Athina Giannakoula, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • Dr. Revecca Pedi, University of Macedonia

 The schedule is shaped as follows:

Saturday, July 1st: 10:30 am – 18.30 pm

Sunday, July 2nd: 15:00 pm – 21:45 pm

Monday, July 3rd: 15:00 – 22:00 pm

Please fill in this application-form and send it to and or call us at +30 6979 639368.

Comments are closed.